This Saturday night the unpredictable winged warriors of the Oil Capital Racing Series will bring their mighty sprint cars to the Outlaw Motorsports Park in Wainwright, Oklahoma for the first time in 2013. The series has performed at the sleek 3/8 mile facility in consecutive years until that string was broken in 2012. New promoters Carey and Nicole Menasco have taken Outlaw Motorsports Park (formerly named Outlaw Motor Speedway) into a new direction and the early season success of the track has race fans excited and now it’s time for the first sprint car special under the Menasco’s leadership.

Winning Streak On The Line

   A winning streak will be on the line when OCRS hits OMP soil Saturday night but it isn’t the typical winning streak one might come to think of. OCRS is in the midst of producing four new winners in 2013 competition without a repeat winner among them. Here is a look at those four:

The streak started when Coweta Oklahoma’s Chance Morton took checkers on May 25th at the Caney Valley Speedway. It was Morton’s first ever sprint car victory as he moved into sprints just this season after cutting his teeth in the micro sprint ranks. Since then, Morton has produced well having finished second at Monett Speedway in Missouri and third at Tri-State Speedway.

Brian McClelland of Tulsa got his first OCRS victory of 2013 at the West Siloam Speedway in Colcord Oklahoma. The win came in a “non-wing” event as OCRS is offering up different challenges to the teams this season. It was McClelland’s first OCRS triumph since a May 2003 score at the Salina Highbanks.

Never one to be mistaken for her charming ways when it comes to her racing, the lovely Miss Kacee Frazier, another Tulsa born, bred and raised racer, showed the fans in the “Show Me State” what she can do as she scored her career first OCRS win last Friday night at the Monett Speedway.

Alex DeCamp of Locust Grove Oklahoma made it a weekend of first time OCRS winners as he brought home the grand prize Saturday night at the Tri-State Speedway in Pocola Oklahoma. Getting his first career sprint car victory was a major challenge, as he had to fight off four-time OCRS king Jamie Passmore for the right to visit victory lane. DeCamp is another former micro racer who has skills to do well.

Prior to these last four events, Harli White, who has led the point standings since opening night, looked as if she would walk through the season with ease having won three of the first five events of the early season. But to win championships, you must do well when you don’t “Park It” in victory lane and Miss White has done that by constantly finishing in the front of the pack. White has her racing stables set up in Lindsay Oklahoma.

2011 Oklahoma State Championship winner Gary Owens of Pauls Valley Oklahoma took honors at the Oklahoma Sports Park in Ada Oklahoma last month and is an expected entrant for this Saturday night’s contest. It will be the first ever appearance by Owens on the fast semi=banked speedway and the Glen Owens owned machine is always a threat to win.

Last and certainly not least is Coweta’s Kade Morton, older brother of Chance. As brothers will sometimes do to brothers, Kade made sure the eldest gets the first shot at something when he wowed the field with a win at the Thunderbird Speedway back in April thus becoming the first driver to score their initial OCRS win during the 2013 season.

This makes for seven different sprint car winners in just nine OCRS events in 2013. This leaves us to question: Will Outlaw Motorsports Park produce yet another first time 2013 or even a first time OCRS career winner this season? Will White win her fourth of the year? Will there be a second driver to have at least two wins when the cars load up at nights end?  Come on out this Saturday night and see first hand just what answer will be produced to this question of thought.

Race Fans: Come Meet OCRS Drivers With Their Cars At Applebee’s!

   Race fans can see OCRS drivers Alex DeCamp, The Morton brothers Kade and Chance along with Johnny “Hotrod” Kent at the Applebee’s in Muskogee Oklahoma from 1pm-3pm this Saturday afternoon. The drivers will be there with their sprint cars and will sign autographs and talk sprint car racing to one and all! Applebee’s restaurant is located at: 415 West Shawnee Street in Muskogee, Oklahoma. So come on by and see the drivers and the cars of the Oil Capital Racing Series and while your there, step on inside and have a fantastic lunch at Applebee’s then head on south on Highway 69 to Outlaw Motorsports Park in Wainwright and watch some thrilling sprint car racing featuring the OCRS sprint cars!




Outlaw Motorsports Park Event Facts


What: Sprint Cars sanctioned by the Oil Capital Racing Series

When: Saturday June 22nd, 2013

Where: Outlaw Motorsports Park / Wainwright, Oklahoma

Time: Gates open 4pm / Hot Laps 7:00pm / Racing starts at 7:30pm

(OCRS drivers meeting at 6:30pm)


Grandstand Ticket Prices:

$15 ages 13 and up / Seniors and kids 6-12 are $10 / kids 5 and under are free / Pit passes are $30


For information call: (918) 687-7077 or 918-760-6199

Track website:

Track is located just 11 miles south of Muskogee on Highway 69


For more information on the OCRS sprint car series including stories, photos, complete 2013 point standings and future schedules, log onto:


It’s showdown time at the Outlaw!



Photo courtesy of Mike Spivey

Tags: ,