Wow what a night this was! Our throwback today takes us back to a hot summer night at Dodge City Raceway Park for a NCRA Late Model event. Kelly Boen certainly was the favorite to go in and take home a win, but the way he did it was downright impressive. Probably the biggest defeat I have ever seen! Kelly lapped the ENTIRE FIELD! Eighteen cars were one lap short at the end of this one. If I remember correctly he passed runner-up Mike Wiarda just before getting the white or checkered. It was truly an amazing feat, one that I don’t think many people will see for a long time.

Kelly has been spending a lot of time with his business lately and has put racing on the back burner. We can only hope we see Kelly return some day, as I’d like to show my son what an amazing driver he really is. Nobody can wheel a car quite like Kelly, and whether you hate him or love him, you’ve got to respect the fact that he does put a lot of butts in the seats and puts on a helluva show!

Also on the card this night was the IMCA Modifieds where Brendon Gemmill took home a win. The Stock Cars and Thunders were also running but can’t remember who won those two divisions. One of my favorite pictures is in this gallery, one of Nick Tubbs jumping out of his car after colliding with another car. He wasn’t exactly happy with the other guy. Not sure if I remember this correctly but I believe the car that spun in front of him was a lap down and took him out of contention for the win. Not 100% sure.

Below is a write-up from that night by NCRA’s David Smith Jr.



Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colorado continued his domination in the areas late model ranks as he picked up his ninth feature victory of the season as the O’Reilly/NCRA late models made their first and only appearance of the season at Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, Kansas on Saturday night.

Boen and Jake Neighbors started on the front row for the 30 lap Hard Rock Hotel-Casino feature with Boen quickly jumping out into the lead atop the beautiful three-eighths mile oval. But the green quickly went yellow when Neighbors drifted high in turns three and four and came to a stop. Also during the caution, current series points leader Kyle Berck of Marquette, Nebraska exited the racing surface to change a flat tire. He would restart at the tail of the field on the restart.

On the complete restart Boen again jumped out front and set a torrid pace, one that would see him lap the field as the whole thirty laps when non-stop. Bryant Goldsmith, who started fifth, worked his way into the runner up position on nine and looked to be settled for that position, still a half lap behind the leader. But lap twenty-four was his undoing as he exited the track with motor problems.

Back up front it was all Boen as the four-time and defending series champion, aboard the Road Runner Fabrication and Coatings/Peterson Fluid Systems, Jay Dickens powered Rocket Chassis cruised through lapped traffic and the field to pick up his fourth feature victory in a row. Mike Wiarda finished second, a career best with the series while Jason O’Brien finished third. Berck came back from restarting the race at the tail of the field to finish fourth while Jimmy Seagraves rounded out the top five.

The two, eight lap heat races for the eighteen car field were won by Boen and Neighbors while Mike Collins won the six lap “B” feature.

Hard Rock Hotel – Casino A Feature: 1, Kelly Boen. 2, Mke Wiarda. 3, Jason O’Brien. 4, Kyle Berck. 5, Jimmy Seagraves. 6, Bo Egge. 7, Scott Koskovich. 8, Ronnie Warman. 9, Mike Collins.10, David Brach. 11, Todd Doty. 12, Wylan Petrie. 13, Brian Bolster. 14, Jake Neighbors. 15, Brad Wagoner. 16, Dave Conkwright. 17, Bryant Goldsmith. 18, Ted Martin.

B Feature: 1, Mike Collins. 2, Todd Doty. 3, David Brach. 4, Brian Bolster. 5, Brad Wagoner. 6, Ted Martin.

1st Heat: 1, Kelly Boen. 2, Bryant Goldsmith. 3, Jason O’Brien. 4, Mike Wiarda. 5, Kyle Berck. 6, Scott Koskovich. 7, David Brach. 8, Ted Martin. 9, Brian Bolster.

2nd Heat: 1, Jake Neighbors. 2, Jimmy Seagraves. 3, Bo Egge. 4, Ronnie Warman. 5, Wylan Petrie. 6, Dave Conkwright. 7, Todd Doty. 8,Brad Wagoner. 9, Mike Collins.

by David Smith Jr.

Tags: ,