This throwback takes us to Decatur County Speedway in Oberlin, Kansas for their season opener on April 13, 2008. The featured attraction was the BST Modified series along with their regular divisions. David Murray took home the honors at this show in his home town. This was an afternoon event and thought I’d be running late after realizing it was a lot further than I thought! Got there in time to make the driver’s meeting and hot laps. The track was in fairly good shape and produced decent racing throughout the day without it being a complete dust storm, as is the case with most day races. This is the only time I’ve been to the track at Oberlin, which now operates on special events only.

Sorry for whoever wrote these articles, I couldn’t find a name to go with either one.

Below is the race recap from that day.

On all photos 2011 and older that are posted on our photo site we are offering them at a DISCOUNTED PRICE if you use the coupon code THROWBACK when ordering. This does not include photos from 2012.


David Murray Jr., Ryan Gaylord, Travis Sherfick, & Todd Pankonin win DCS Features

The Decatur County Speedway Season Opener had all the elements of a great season opener! With over 4 different states and 80 plus cars, DCS had great racing, with very few cautions making for a fast and smooth show. Good car counts and lots of fans in the stands, along with great support from the local media and track sponsors including the Schwans Food Company. Todd Pankonin from Binkelman NE took the win in the Hobby’s after some great racing with Kelly Kanopp and Austin Davis. The top 3 drivers traded the lead and or challenged the leader lap after lap.

Jason Rogers and Lloyd Meeske looked like the cars to beat in the Stock feature and like the Hobby’s the Stock put on a great show up front with the very patient Travis Sherfick using the lower groove of the 3 groove track to make the pass late in the feature and go on to the win.

Ryan Gaylord, BST’s driver development driver, in his very first Sport Mod race, driving his Larry Shaw Sport Mod, held of a hard charge by Dusty Palmore, Milo Lippleman and Shane Klochman to win the first ever Sport Mod feature of many more to come at Decatur County Speedway.

As the Big Guns of the Larry Shaw BST Modified Series rolled out in a 4 wide, flags raised salute to America… you could feel the excitement in the air having the premiere drivers in the region in the show. Fort Morgan, CO driver Beau Speicher took the 24 car field to the green, but it was Oberlin KS driver David Murray Jr. who looked like a man on a mission and had something to prove with his 2008 BST IMCA modified debut, as he took the early lead and never looking back. Behind Murray Jr the racing was nothing short of great, 3 to 5 wide action on a perfectly prepared track from the 2nd place driver Mark Zorn to the last feature finisher Brandon Hagen.

BST and Drivers are looking forward to Round 3 on April 26th in Jetmore, Kansas and Round 4 on April 27th in Lexington, Nebraska!!

David Murray – 97m – Oberlin, KS
Mark Zorn – 21z – Russell, KS
Chad Dolan – 87- Gibbon, NE
Beau Speicher – 73 – Fort Morgan, CO
Joe Cleveland – 719 – Delphos, KS
Matt Brack – 16m Mead, Co
Corey Lagroom – 24Salina, K
Domnic Ursetta-6u Arvada, Co
Eddie Belec – 3b Lakewood, CO
JeremyFrenier – 17j Fort Morgan, Co
Brandon Blochlinger – 9
Ronnie Wallace – 3rw McCook,Ks
Chris Burk 7B
Scott Blessing – 1x Kearney, NE
Angel Munoz-2m Lamar, CO
Jason Shoenburger – 6
Brandon Hagen – 21h Culbertson, NE
Shane Lewis – 21d
Jordan Grabouski – 30 Fairbarry, NE
Jerry Teel – 6t Hays, KS
Jermey Zorn – 16z Russell, KS
Will Brack – 15w Mead, CO
Brad Smilth-12b Loylane Village, CO
Rob Day – 7d Wakeeney, KS
Todd Pankonin – 16j – Binkelman, NE
Austin Davis – 3n1 – Binkelman, NE
Kelly Kanoff – 22 – Thorton, KS
Nate Michan – 33 – Odessa, KS
Richard Boone – 88y – Binkelman, NE
Sport Mods
Ryan Gaylord – Golden, CO – 16
Shane Klochman – BST 2 seater – Ogalla, NE
Milo Lippleman – 383 – Oberlin, KS
Dusty Palmore – 77D -Arvada, Co
Classic Mods
Max Pullman -p80 – Trenton, NE
Rick Toukt- 26t – Oberlin, KS
Matt Matson – 83p – Macook, NE
Troy Wentz – 98 – Norton, KS
Travis Sherfick -66 Wakeeney, KS
Jason Rodgers-37 Sheldon, KS
Lloyd Meskie-32 Champoin, NE
Jesse Taylor-05 Fort Morgan, CO
Dan Lauer -49 Oberlion, KS

Additional article:

With record numbers of cars in the pit area and fans in the grandstands, David Murray Jr. went to work adding to a couple records of his own.

Murray dominated Sunday’s Larry Shaw Racing Blood, Sweat and Tears feature at Decatur County Speedway, lapping up to seventh place before a late caution. The $700 checkers was Murray’s IMCA Modifed career-best 392nd and 13th in his second BST season.

Mark Zorn ran second. Completing the top five were Chad Dolan, Beau Speicher and Joe Cleveland.

Speicher took the 24-car to green but Murray was not to be denied, snatching away the lead early and pulling away from a pack that sometimes ran five-wide.

A spin by Jordan Grabouski, the series points leader after first and second-place finishes at Beatrice, set up a green-white-checkered finish. Murray motored away, leading Zorn across the finish line.

Thirty-eight Modifieds ventured to Oberlin for the third stop on the 2008 tour, postponed a day because of forecasts calling for rain and chilly temperatures.

Only four yellows came out during the program.

Next up on the series schedule are shows Saturday, April 26 at Jetmore Motorplex and Sunday, April 27 at Dawson County Raceway in Lexington, Neb. Both events pay $700 to win and a minimum of $100 to start.

Feature Results
1. David Murray Jr., Oberlin;
2. Mark Zorn, Russell;
3. Chad Dolan, Gibbon, Neb.;
4. Beau Speicher, Fort Morgan, Colo.;
5. Joe Cleveland, Delphos;
6. Matt Brack, Mead, Colo.;
7. Corey Lagroon, Salina;
8. Dominic Ursetta, Arvada, Colo.;
9. Eddie Belec, Lakewood, Colo.;
10. Jeremy Frenier, Fort Morgan, Colo.;
11. Brandon Blochlinger, Concordia;
12. Ronnie Wallace, McCook, Neb.;
13. Chris Burk, Friend, Neb.;
14. Scott Blessing, Kearney, Neb.;
15. Angel Munoz, Lamar, Colo.;
16. Jason Schoenberger, Gorham;
17. Brandon Hagen, Culbertson, Neb.;
18. Shane Lewis, North Platte, Neb.;
19. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice, Neb.;
20. Jerry Teel, Hays;
21. Jeremy Zorn, Russell;
22. Will Brack, Mead, Colo.;
23. Brad Smith, Loylane Village, Colo.;
24. Rob Day, WaKeeney.

Tags: ,